

The Corporation of the Town of Milton

Report To: Council

From: William Roberts, Acting Town Clerk

Date: May 27, 2019

Report No: CORS-031-19

Subject: Nomination to the CTC Source Water Protection Committee

Recommendation: That Milton Council concur with the nomination of Mr. Dave

Kentner as the Municipal Representative for Halton Region and Wellington County on the Credit Valley- Toronto and Region- Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection

Committee

REPORT

Background

The Town received the attached correspondence from the Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority requesting the appointment of a representative from Halton Region and Wellington County to the CTC Source Protection Committee. Former Halton Hills Councillor, Mr. Dave Kentner has been the representative on the Committee since 2007.

Discussion

The request for appointment of an individual to represent the municipalities of Halton Region and a portion of Wellington County requires each municipality to pass a resolution nominating the individual to the Committee. It should be noted that most of the CTC area covered in Halton is located in Halton Hills. The Town of Halton Hills has recently recommended the nomination of Mr. Kentner and have requested Council endorsement of his nomination. Staff are also recommending the nomination of Mr. Dave Kentner. His current appointment expires June 1st and the appointment will be for a 5 year term.

Financial Impact

There is no financial impact to this recommendation

Respectfully submitted,



The Corporation of the Town of Milton

Troy McHarg Commissioner, Corporate Services

For questions, please

contact:

William Roberts Phone Number 905-878-

7252 x2132

Attachments

Correspondence from Toronto and Region Source Protection Committee

CAO Approval
William Mann, MCIP, RPP, OALA, CSLA, MCIF, RPF
Chief Administrative Officer



5 Shoreham Drive, Downsview, ON M3N 1S4 T. 416-661-6600 | info@trca.on.ca

SENT VIA E-MAIL

CTC Source Protection Region

Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Halton Region
Attention: Graham Milne, Regional Clerk
1151 Bronte Road,
Oakville, ON
L6M 3L1
Email: Graham.Milne@halton.ca

Town of Halton Hills

Attention: Suzanne Jones, Clerk and Director of Legislative Services 1 Halton Hills Drive Halton Hills, ON

L7G 5G2

Email: suzannej@haltonhills.ca

Town of Milton

Attention: Town Clerk

150 Mary Street Milton, ON

L9T 6Z5

Email: townclerk@milton.ca

Town of Oakville

Attention: Town Clerk
1225 Trafalgar Road
Oakville, ON

Email: townclerk@oakville.ca

Town of Erin

Attention: Nathan Hyde, CAO

5684 Trafalgar Rd. Hillsburgh, ON N0B 1Z0 Email: nathan.hyde@erin.ca

Wellington County

Attention: Donna Bryce, County Clerk

74 Woolwich St. Guelph, ON N1H 3T9

Email: donnab@wellington.ca

RE: REQUEST JOINT NOMINATION OF ONE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE CTC SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE

DUE BY 4:00 P.M. WEDNESDAY, MAY 29, 2019

Ontario Regulation 288/07 under the *Clean Water Act, 2006* outlines the terms and conditions of appointments to source protection committees. On June 1, 2019, the term of the member representing Halton Region, the County of Wellington, the Towns of Halton Hills, Erin, Milton, and Oakville on the CTC Source Protection Committee is set to expire. Mr. Kentner is the current member fulfilling this role and has ably represented the interests of your municipality since the CTC Source Protection Committee was formed in 2007.

Replacement members to the Committee must be appointed by the Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority (TRSPA) in accordance with Section 3 of Ontario Regulation 288/07. Your municipalities are asked to jointly nominate an elected official, staff member, or citizen representative that complies with the eligibility requirements as listed in Attachment 1. Council resolutions are not required to accompany the nomination, but all municipalities must confirm that they are in agreement as to the candidate to fill this role. It is suggested that municipalities meet over the next couple of months to discuss and make decisions with respect to their preferred representative. Our Program Manager, Jennifer Stephens, is available to attend meetings as a resource.

The term of this Municipal member will be five (5) years from the date of appointment. The time commitment for CTC SPC members varies with work load. As we are now implementing and updating the CTC Source Protection Plan, we anticipate the need for three five-hour committee meetings per calendar year with periodic communications in-between. Members are provided with a per diem of \$200 and mileage as set through the provincial guidelines.

Pursuant to Ontario Regulation 288/07, please submit the name of the person to represent your municipality by Wednesday, May 29, 2019 to the attention of:

Jennifer Stephens, Program Manager, CTC Source Protection Region

Via mail to: 101 Exchange Avenue, Vaughan, ON, L4K 5R6 Via courier to: 101 Exchange Avenue, Vaughan, ON, L4K 5R6

Via email to: sourcewater@trca.on.ca OR

Via fax to: 416-661-6898

Should you wish further information on the nomination of members, their duties or other information, please contact Jennifer Stephens, Program Manager, CTC Source Protection Region via email at jstephens@trca.on.ca or by telephone at 416-892-9634.

Thank you for your municipality's efforts as we jointly work to protect our sources of drinking water.

Sincerely,

John Mackenzie, Chief Executive Officer

Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority

cc. David Kentner, Municipal Member, CTC Source Protection Committee
Aldo Salis, Director of Planning, Wellington County
Lisa Campion, Deputy Clerk, Town of Erin
Jennifer Stephens, Program Manager, CTC Source Protection Region
Kerry Mulchansingh, Program Manager – Hydrogeology, Credit Valley Conservation
Daniel Banks, Risk Management Official, Halton Region
Kyle Davis, Risk Management Official, Wellington County

ATTACHMENT 1: Source Protection Committee Membership Eligibility

ATTACHMENT 1:



Source Protection Committee Membership Eligibility Requirements

SPC Member Skills and Qualifications

- Hold relevant knowledge of the applicable watersheds, communities, and local issues;
- Demonstrated ability to understand source protection planning related science, concepts and technical reports;
- Proven ability to act as liaison to bring forward common concerns from their knowledge and experience in the municipal sector to the Committee and assist in communicating the Committee's work to municipal councils and staff;
- Solid problem-solving, analytical, communication and organizational skills;
- Demonstrated ability to work with group dynamics and team environments;
- Willingness and ability to travel within the CTC Source Protection Region for public consultation meetings and information sessions;
- Has, or is capable of having direct contact with residents and landowners; and
- Provide constructive, collaborative, and science-based input on local source protection planning issues.

SPC MEMBER ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

- Reside in, own or rent property within the CTC Source Protection Region; or
- Be employed or operate a business within the CTC Source Protection Region; or
- Be employed by a municipality that is in the CTC Source Protection Region; and
- Not be a member or employee of Credit Valley Conservation, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, or Central Lake Ontario Conservation Authority.

REGULATORY CONDITIONS OF APPOINTMENT

- The appointee must regularly attend meetings of the source protection committee.
- The appointee must comply with the source protection committee's Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest policy, as well as the Rules of Procedure.